Back to top

Hawke’s Bay’s Regional Recovery Agency taking shape

Blair OKeeffe

Oversight Board Chair, members announced

The newly established Hawke’s Bay Regional Recovery Agency (RRA) continues to make progress, with Co-Chairs of Te Matau a Māui Hawke’s Bay Matariki Governance Group, Leon Symes and Mayor Alex Walker, today announcing the appointment of Blair O’Keeffe as Independent Chair of the RRA’s Oversight Board.

Announced alongside O’Keeffe, who currently chairs Napier Port and the Hawke’s Bay Rescue Helicopter Trust, is the appointment of six local directors: John Loughlin, Renata Hakiwai, Wendie Harvey, Caren Rangi, Tania Eden and Billy Brough. Collectively, the Board brings a broad and deep range of governance experience across infrastructure, primary sector, resource management, iwi, crown and local government.

Together, the Oversight Board will be responsible for overseeing the development of the Regional Recovery Plan, as the RRA develops a framework for a recovery that is locally led, regionally coordinated and government supported.

Alex Walker, Mayor of Central Hawke’s Bay District Council and Co-Chair of Te Matau a Māui Hawke’s Bay Matariki Governance Group, says the appointment of  the Oversight Board  is an important step forward in the transition from immediate response toward long-term recovery, which will require investment far greater than anything the region has seen before.   

“We know that much of the current, urgent work on core areas of waste management and roading connections are still occupying most of local government’s time and resources.

“We need the independent Oversight Board to provide strong leadership on the big strategic needs for recovery, which will require whole-of-region delivery and confidence from central government, local government, iwi and private sectors as investors in our future.”

Leon Symes, Chair of Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa and Co-Chair of Te Matau a Māui Hawke’s Bay Matariki Governance Group, says the Oversight Board will ensure a strong and coordinated approach to the region’s recovery.

“Establishing the Regional Recovery Agency is critical as its role is to promote building back better, safer and stronger, providing the coordination and assurance required to bring local authorities, government agencies and community groups together to deliver a better future for Hawke’s Bay.

Meka Whaitiri, Ministerial Recovery Lead for Hawke’s Bay, says the government supports a regionally led recovery, and the Chair’s appointment and formation of the Oversight Board was noted by Cabinet. It is a strong board, headed up by a Chair with a wide range of experience in commercial, community, local government and Crown entities, which together will support the recovery now and in the future.

Incoming Chair Blair O’Keeffe says the Board’s appointments are a key milestone in advancing a coordinated recovery.

“It is great to have a high calibre, experienced and diverse, skills-based, local board.

“Our immediate task is establishing the Agency and supporting the transition from an emergency response to a long-term approach to recovery for our region.

“Our focus will be working with Iwi, industry, local and central government to create and communicate a clear recovery plan, with tangible outcomes. Work has already started.”

Back to News

Copyright © 2023 Hawke's Bay Recovery

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© - / +64 6 000 0000 /